SBE Chapter 37
SBE Chapter 37
July 6, 2022  

Prior Meetings

Next Gen Logo

All Are Welcome at SBE Meetings;
SBE Membership is not Required


Mr. Mark Aitken 
Coispel Aldrik 
Mr. Jeff Andrew 
Mr. Josh Arensberg 
Mr. Paul Atwell 
Mr. Ralph Bachofen 
Mr. Thomas Barbeau 
Mr. Fred Baumgartner 
Mr. Jim Beahn 
Mr. George Beneman 
Mr. William Bernstein 
Mr. Michael Bouchard 
Mr. Matthew Brandes 
Mr. Bob Bush 
Mr. Tom Butts 
Mr. Edward Caleca 
Mr. Ruben Calzadilla 
Graziano Casale 
Mr. Lynn Claudy 
Mr. Mark Corl 
Ms. Kristina Cushing de Recinos 
Ms. Melissa Davis 
Ms. Stacey Decker 
Mr. Larry Deeds 
Ms. Miriam DePalmer 
Mr. Greg Doggett 
Mr. Rick Ducey 
Mr. Frank Erlandsen 
Mr. Glenn Estersohn 
Mr. Dennis Felton 
Mr. Vince Forcier 
Mr. Rob Forman 
Mr. Mark Fratrik 
Mr. Adam Goldberg 
Mr. Karl Graebener 
J. Nephi Griffith 
Mr. Frank Grundstein 
Mr. Walt Gumbert 
Mr. Thomas Hackett 
Mr. Brett Hammond 
Mr. Clarence Hau 
Mr. Brian Haywood 
Stavros Hilaris 
Mr. Rick Howe 
Mr. Mark Hunt 
Mr. Rick Hunt 
Mr. Thomas Janner 
Mr. Greg Jarvis 
Sasha Javid 
Mr. Graham Knight 
Selah Konur 
Mr. Chris Lane 
Mr. David Layer 
Mr. Steven Lewis 
Mr. Richard Lhermitte 
Mr. Edward Liberatore 
Mr. James Lillibridge 
Mr. Robert  Lydick 
Mr. John Lynch 
Mr. Bill Magliocco 
Mr. Brian Markwalter 
Mr. Greg Martin 
Mr. Michael McCamy 
Mr. John McCoskey 
Mr. Kenneth Miller 
Mr. David Neff 
Ms. Madeleine Noland 
Mr. James O'Neal 
Macie Ochman 
Mr. Christopher Pandich 
Joonyoung Park 
Mr. Karl Paulsen 
Mr. Malcolm Peplow 
Mr. Keshore Persaud 
Mr. Eric Piard 
Mr. Skip Pizzi 
Mr. Fred Ramsey 
Beau Riley 
Adi Rozenberg 
Mr. Douglas  Salewsky 
Ms. Kim Savage 
Mr. Joe Seccia 
Mr. Brad Seecof 
Ms. Louise Shideler 
Wael  Shreiba 
Mr. Sidney Shumate 
Mr. Rick Singer 
Mr. Gregory Smalfelt 
Mr. William Smith 
Mr. Alex Snell 
Mr. James Snyder 
Mr. Jim Stenberg 
Mr. Rudy Sultana 
Mr. Brian Szewczyk 
Mr. Monty Tayloe 
Mr. John Taylor 
Mr. Matthew Tietze 
Mr. Christopher Torkelson 
Ms. Gwenn Tune 
Mr. Dan Ullmer 
Mr. Pete Van Peenen 
Mr. Eddy Vanderkerken 
So Vang 
Mr. Dennis Wallace 
Mr. Eric Wenocur 
Mr. Jake Westerman 
Mr. Peter Wharton 
Mr. Philip Whitebloom 
Mr. Fred Willard 
Mr. Jay Wood 
Mr. David Zack 

Next Gen TV Summit

Photo Credit: James O Neal
Photo Credit: James O Neal

Guest Speaker: Multiple - See Text

January 16, 2020

Based on trade press coverage (see below) and unsolicited comments, the Next Gen TV Summit was a great success enjoyed by all.  Thanks to many attendees arriving early, it was possible to start the program a few minutes ahead of schedule and cover more than nine hours of material.  Attendees and presenters enjoyed excellent hors d'oeuvres and an open bar at nearby Busboys and Poets.

Turnout was greater than anticipated owing to the subject and its timing relative to the CES taking place just one week prior. CES highlighted NEXTgen TV with the release of 20 or more television models with approved ATSC 3.0 tuners. Due to great interest, we had to stop accepting registrations two weeks before the event. Regardless, with 120 people attending, the meeting room was quite full. Most attendees were present from before 8 am until past 7:30 pm. We were fortunate to have cooperation with ATSC, NAB, and SMPTE along with generous sponsors listed below.

Here's a summary of press coverage:

Our television industry is at a crossroads. Will broadcast cooperate with and leverage 5G technology or strike out on its own with ATSC 3.0? Or will it be some hybrid thereto? What will this mean for consumers? How will this change their viewing experience and habits? These questions and more were addressed at the all-day Next Gen TV Summit held at WETA on January 16th.

We believe ATSC 3.0, now known as Next Gen TV, has the potential to transform the television viewing experience. The Next Gen TV Summit, a regional event with national backing, will be an all-day conference covering ATSC 3.0 television, along with simultaneously emerging 5G broadcast technologies and their impact on the media industry. The Summit explored the technologies behind Next Gen TV and how it will transform the consumer experience and create new opportunities.

We looked at the ways Next Gen TV can impact consumers and deliver a richer and more engaging experience optimized for home, auto and mobile environments. With the launch of these new distribution systems, broadcast television and wireless services will become IP delivery platforms for media content with highly differentiated yet complementary capabilities. While examining these capabilities, we also looked at the underlying technologies and what broadcasters need to know in order to implement them.  We heard from the station groups themselves about their deployments and how they expect to leverage Next Gen TV’s capabilities. 

This event was for technical folks and engineers as well as strategic leaders, new business managers, station managers, and digital sales managers. It shed light on technical aspects, which by now are ironclad or at least established and published and more about strategy and capability. Our guest speakers included:

  • Lynn Claudy—NAB and ATSC
  • Madeleine Noland—ATSC
  • Joonyoung Park—DigiCap
  • John Lynch—ERI
  • Jeff Andrew—Osborn Engineering
  • Richard Lhermitte—Enensys
  • Josh Arsenberg—Verizon
  • Jean Macher—Harmonic
  • John McCoskey—SpectraRep
  • Rick Ducey—BIA
  • Mark Fratrik—BIA
  • Mark Corl—Triveni Digital
  • Pete Van Peenan—Pearl TV
  • Greg Jarvis—Fincons
  • So Vang—NAB
  • Thomas Janner—Rhode & Schwarz
  • Brian Markwalter—Consumer Technology Association
  • Skip Pizzi—NAB
  • Michael Bouchard—ONE Media and Sinclair Broadcast Group
  • Stacey Decker—Public Media Group
  • Sasha Javid—The Spectrum Co

Links to many presentations are available from this SMPTE web site and many video recordings are available on SMPTE's YouTube page.

Thanks to our sponsors for their help defraying costs and keeping the cost reasonable.

Photo Credit:  Fred Willard
Photo Credit: Fred Willard

Copyright © 2022 Society of Broadcast Engineers Chapter 37 Inc., All Rights Reserved